Nominate your New Forest champions

CLA and New Forest National Park Authority launch their annual awards - enter now
All the winners at the New Forest Show - Resized.JPG
Previous winners at the New Forest and Hampshire County Show

The CLA and New Forest National Park Authority have launched their annual awards to celebrate rural successes and achievements in the New Forest.

Nominations are now open for the ninth New Forest Awards, which are supported by Moore Barlow and the New Forest Agricultural Show Society.

The awards celebrate the best local food and drink producers, young environmental champions, diversified rural businesses, land managers, young farmers and commoners, and sustainability champions who support the New Forest’s landscape and economy.

The winners will be crowned at a ceremony and drinks reception at the New Forest and Hampshire County Show on 27 July.

Individuals, businesses and organisations can nominate themselves or be nominated by others, but must be living, working or practising within the New Forest Awards area (see map here). Nominations close on 19 June 2022 with application forms available at

Tim Bamford, Regional Director of CLA South East, which represents landowners, farmers and rural businesses, said: ‘The CLA is once again proud to be supporting these awards, which highlight the hugely important role played by farmers and other rural businesses in managing the landscape and helping our communities prosper in the New Forest and across Hampshire.

‘We’re delighted that the awards are returning this year to honour even more rural success stories, and we look forward to crowning the winners at the show in July.’

Alison Barnes, Chief Executive of the New Forest National Park Authority, said: ‘Enabling a living, working Forest to thrive into the future relies on great partnerships. In the last few months, the term “Team New Forest” has really come to the fore, with an increasing diversity of people working together to help the National Park to remain a beautiful, thriving haven for wildlife and people.

‘These awards champion local people whose dedication to a sustainable New Forest really shines through – especially in the face of the climate and nature emergencies and the pandemic. We’re thrilled that the awards, and the New Forest Show, are back up and running again in 2022.’

Nominations are invited for the following categories:

  • Young Farmer/Commoner of the Year (aged 40 and under)
  • Best Supporter of Local Produce
  • Sustainability Champion
  • Young Environmental Champion (aged 25 and under)
  • Rural Diversification
  • Land Management.

For full details of criteria and how to apply, visit