Nominate champions for the 2024 New Forest awards now

Rural awards celebrate sustainability champions, young farmers and more this summer
All the winners at the New Forest Show - Resized.JPG
The winners will be crowned at the New Forest and Hampshire County Show in July.

The CLA and New Forest National Park Authority have launched their annual awards to celebrate rural success stories in the New Forest.

The awards recognise the people in and around the New Forest who have made outstanding contributions to the environment, rural economy and our communities.

We will crown the winners at an awards ceremony and drinks reception at the New Forest and Hampshire County Show on 31 July.

Nominations are now open for the 11th annual awards, which are supported by Moore Barlow and the New Forest Agricultural Show Society.

The awards celebrate sustainability champions, young farmers and commoners, diversified rural businesses, young environmental champions, farming and nature champions, and the best supporters of local produce who work in and around the National Park.

Individuals, businesses and organisations can nominate themselves or be nominated by others, but must be living, working or practising within the New Forest Awards area. Nominations close on 31 May 2024 with application forms and nomination criteria available at

Proud to champion rural excellence

Tim Bamford, Regional Director of CLA South East, said: ‘The CLA is proud that these awards have grown to establish themselves as an important annual celebration of the New Forest’s vibrant rural economy.

‘The nominations window is only open for a short period so please get your applications in. We look forward to celebrating the Forest’s innovative and dynamic individuals and businesses at the show presentation in July.’

Alison Barnes, chief executive of the New Forest National Park Authority, said: ‘This year marks the 75th anniversary of national parks in the UK, and with a focus on how we can work together for our protected landscapes.

‘It’s fitting that in this anniversary year we’re celebrating those who go above and beyond to care for the New Forest.'

Nominations are invited for the following categories:

  • Young Farmer/Commoner of the Year (aged 35 and under)
  • Best Supporter of Local Produce in conjunction with the New Forest Marque
  • Sustainability Champion
  • Young Environmental Champion (aged 25 and under)
  • Rural Diversification
  • Farming and Nature Champion.