About CLA Midlands

Find out more about our work, how to contact us and our branch committees
View from the Wrekin over Shropshire

CLA Midlands provides advice, services and rural representation for members in the counties of Cheshire, Derbyshire, Herefordshire, Leicestershire & Rutland, Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire and Worcestershire

Contact us:

t: 01785 337010 e: midlands@cla.org.uk

What Three Words: ///exile.overture.play

Follow us on twitter @CLAMidlands

CLA Midlands, Knightley, Woodseaves, Staffordshire, ST20 0JW

Information and advice

Full members enjoy free, unlimited access to independent, impartial information and advice on rural, farming and business issues from our in-house advisers.

Regularly updated guidance notes, advisory handbooks, monthly Land & Business  magazine, regular e-news and bulletins covering the latest news, issues and updates. 


Local, county and regional lobbying activities help inform MPs, MEPs, authorities, agencies and the general public on your behalf.


Each county has a branch committee elected from the membership that ensures local concerns are addressed at the highest level.


Members can access a range of exclusive benefits including insurance, energy services, healthcare, discounted vehicles and offers from other members.


Members enjoy a wide range of  local events and activities, including conferences, briefings, networking, estate & farm visits and social functions. 

Your Local Branch Committees

Our branch committee members are the eyes and ears of the CLA in each county and form an important role in formulating national policy, ensuring views and concerns of members in the Midlands are taken into account with CLA national lobbying. 

Branch Committees meet before each CLA Council meeting, where chairmen raise issues directly with the CLA Presidential team in order to influence Policy.

To find out who is on your branch committee follow the links below.

We are always looking for new members to join committees. If you might be interested please contact Jan Hewes at the regional office on 01785 337010 or jan.hewes@cla.org.uk for an informal, confidential discussion.

Jan can also help you contact any committee members, should you wish to raise a particular issue.

Cheshire Committee

President Sarah Callander Beckett
Vice President (Life) Viscount Ashbrook 
Vice President Sir William Bromley-Davenport KCVO FCA JP 
Chairman Edward Barnston
Vice Chairman Annabel Farbon


Henry Brooks

Edward Clark

Richard Cornwall-Legh

William G Fergusson

Ross Houlden

Rupert Jackson

Annette McDonald

Bruce McConnell

Phillip Posnett

David K Rowlands

Graham Tongue

Steve Wilkinson

Derbyshire Committee

President The Hon David P C Legh DL FRICS 
Chairman Edward Hicklin


Adrian Davie-Thornhill 
Catherine Desmond
Sir Richard FitzHerbert Bt. 
Robert Gosling 
Charlotte Marrison
Edward Marshall
David Merton
Godfrey Meynell  
Michael Shuttleworth 
Edward Tennant 
Chris C G Trafford 
W Mark D Twelves 
Mrs Denise Wilkinson 
Nick Wood

Herefordshire Committee

President David Curtis
Chairman Joe Evans


Francis Chester-Master
Richard Corbett
James Davenport
Rupert Foley
Lucie Hammond 
James Hervey-Bathurst 
Mrs Jo Hilditch  
Nat Hone  
Henry James
Sue Powell
Jan Lucas Scudamore
Humphrey Salwey  
William Shuttleworth
Helen Thomas  
James Verdin

Leicestershire & Rutland Committee

President  Sir Richard Tollemache Bt 
Chair  Rachel Walker


Harry Baines
Charles H C Coaker  
Patrick Beddows TD BSc MRICS FAAV
Robin W Clarke FRICS FAAV
Lord Cromwell  (Godfrey) 
Paul W E Milner  
Peverel Manners
Andrew Moffat 
Mark R Newton FRICS  
Alf W Oliver  
Geoff Wright
Richard Wright  
Charles Wollaston

Shropshire Committee


President: Alex Carson-Taylor
Chair: The Hon. Selina Graham
Vice Chair: Dimitri Harrison

The Viscount Boyne (Tavie)
The Hon. Charles Bridgeman
Steven Corfield
Tom Downes
Lord Forester (George)
Lord Hamilton (Gavin)
William Heywood-Lonsdale
Lizzie Hulton-Harrop
Caroline Magnus - sabbatical
Robert Paul
Roger Plowden
Andrew Sayer
Simon Scott
Rhydian Scurlock-Jones
Peter Ward
Michael Watney

Staffordshire Committee

President Paul Wolferstan
Chairman Michael Eld 


Stephen Armstrong
Sarah Baugh
Robert Browne
Andrew Collier
Ben Duncan
Richard Dyott
James Eld 
Jamie Friend
John Giffard
Mrs Barbara Golder 
Alexander Hall
Roy Jackson
Ted Juhre  
John Leather
Neil Mainwaring
Piers Monckton  
Andrew Ryman
Peter Stone 
Mike Thompstone  

Warwickshire Committee

President The Earl of Aylesford DL 
Chairman Alex Robinson
Vice Chairman


Alan JL Cockburn
Brian Dalby
Mark Dickin
Marcus W Faulkner  
Michael Fetherston-Dilke DL 
Ian Flavell
William Forsyth 
Peter Gregory-Hood 
John Hall 
John Hammon
David Lodder  DL
Robert Morton  
Fred Moreton  
Roger Stone  
The Viscount Daventry (James)
Thomas Wheatley-Hubbard

Worcestershire Committee

President  Nicholas Lechmere
Chairman Iain Morrison  
Vice Chairman Jon Clifford


Penelope Bossom 
Georgina Britten-Long
Nigel Bullock  
The Viscount Cobham  (Christopher)
Yan Gittins
Andrew Grant 
Edward Holloway
Peter Philips 
Andrew Shirley-Priest
Michael Simpson
Mark Steele  
Pip Webster  
John Wilesmith