Herefordshire Branch

Herefordshire branch committee is here to represent the interests of the county’s members and ensure that your concerns are heard at county, national and European levels.

We are also fortunate to have representatives from across a wide spectrum of the rural economy on our committee, from farming and landowners, tourism, equine and rural businesses large and small.

The committee structure helps raise the issues that affect you. Once we are aware of a local concern, if feel we cannot deal with it at a local level, we will take it to CLA Council, or one of our specialist national committees where you will receive the best possible advice, representation and lobbying.

We are your voice, and please feel free to contact your committee via the Regional office at or by calling 01785 337010 if you have any concerns you would like to address, or indeed if you would like to become more involved. Don’t forget that we run a range of events throughout the year and look forward to meeting you.

Your Committee 

President David Curtis
Chairman Joe Evans


Francis Chester-Master
Richard Corbett
James Davenport
Rupert Foley
Lucie Hammond 
James Hervey-Bathurst 
Mrs Jo Hilditch  
Nat Hone  
Henry James
Sue Powell
Jan Lucas Scudamore
Humphrey Salwey  
William Shuttleworth
Helen Thomas  
James Verdin

Some issues covered in recent committee meetings:

  • Member Representation on Policy Committee and Council
  • Rural Tourism
  • Water issues
  • Family Businesses
  • Biotechnology
  • CAP reform
  • Brexit
  • Forthcoming social and professional events

Representation and consulations  Branch members and regional staff are currently involved with the following bodies and consultations:

  • Marches Woodland Forum
  • Wye Forum and Wye Management Advisory Group
  • Malvern Hills AONB Joint Advisory Committee
  • Wye Navigation Advisory Committee
  • Hereford Rural Hub
  • Wye Valley AONB Joint Advisory Committee
  • Herefordshire Revised Preferred options
  • Herefordshire LDF Place Shaping